A  A  A

Bayhealth Names Educators of the Year


Bayhealth recognized the 2013 Outstanding Healthcare Educators of the Year in recent ceremonies at both Kent General and Milford Memorial.Fairuz “Fai” Lutz, MSN, RN, received the award for Kent General and David Edillion, BSN, RN, received the award from Milford Memorial.

The Kent General Outstanding Healthcare Educator of the Year Award is presented in honor of Geraldine “Gerri” Webb Palladino, a pioneer in promoting the professional development of hospital staff.

In addition to serving as a staff nurse on Kent General’s 2B Unit, Lutz is also an instructor for Wesley College’s nursing program. Her co-workers said Lutz “has an innate ability to make everyone feel at ease and even turns the smallest question into a learning opportunity to create a mini lesson plan.” Lutz encourages her students and coworkers to pursue advanced nursing degrees.  Lutz is currently earning her PhD degree.

Other nominees for the Kent Campus were; Ludy Santiago-Rotchford, MSN, APRN, ACNS-BC, PCCN; Gail Smith, RN, IBCLC; Samantha Epting, RTT (R) (T); and Jennifer Wilson, BSN, RN.

The Milford Memorial Outstanding Healthcare Educator of the Year Award is named in honor of Carol Soots, a long-time Emergency Department nurse and education advocate at Milford Memorial.

David Edillion works in a variety of areas in Milford Memorial’s peri-operative area. A mentor and educational leader, Edillion serves as a preceptor to new members of his team. His co-workers say that Edillion “provides a strong foundation for new employees to begin their careers no matter what their level of experience.”

Other nominees for the Milford Campus were Robyn Dittoe, MSN, RN; Albert Vayda, BSN, RN; and Debbie Bowden, RN.

Return To Previous Page