A  A  A

Bayhealth Employees Show Artistic Talents in Annual Contest



For nearly 14 years, Bayhealth employees have had the opportunity to display their artistic talents as well as their clinical skills through an annual Calendar Photo Contest.

Sponsored yearly by Bayhealth’s Marketing Communications Department, the contest is open to all Bayhealth employees and physicians. Different themes have served as categories throughout the years. For the 2014 calendar, the theme “The Sights of Delaware” was selected, and submissions depicting fun, educational or artistic images of family, friends, pets, personal interests, nature and wildlife were accepted. 

Twelve first place winners were chosen, and each winning photo served as the highlight for a month of the calendar. Winning photos were submitted by Allie Vassilieva, BSN, RN, CEN; Valeriya Vandermark, MLT; Priscilla Di Bona; Katherine Davis; Eric Gloss, DO; Ann DeFrancesco; Joesphine Jackson; Cyndy Bennett; Rev. Deacon Dottie Vuono; Tanya Karaman, RN; Michael Losino; and Donna Short.

Donna Short’s winning photo of a pair of mallards in flight at Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge occupied the December spot of the calendar. A Dover resident who works in Bayhealth’s Pharmacy Department, she has previously won first place and memorable mention honors in past calendar photo contests.

“My husband and I go to Bombay Hook often,” she said. “He drives and I take photos. I love taking photos of wildlife and nature mainly. You just have to be in the right place at the right time.”

Cyndy Bennett of Frederica, an employee in Bayhealth’s Materials Management Department, was apparently in the right place at the right time when she snapped a photo of two bikes leaning against a fence at the beach in Rehoboth.

“I enjoy taking a lot of beach pictures, and I’ve had photos I’ve taken of snow geese and horseshoe crabs on display at the hospital before,” she said. “I like to experiment with perspective.”

Bennett also had a winning photo in Bayhealth’s 2012 calendar.

Twelve honorable mention winners were also selected, submitted by Jenny Mitchell, Renee Sylvester, Donna Lozzi, Sandi Voss, Jo-an Breckenridge, Angela Saxton, Trisha Bentley, Scott Reel, Jacqui Fox, Andrea Myer, Jonathan Garnet and Melissa Moore.

Return To Previous Page