Bayhealth lab coats

Bayhealth Hosts First-Ever White Coat Ceremony for Resident Physicians

Wednesday, July 14, 2021 |


Bayhealth held its first-ever White Coat Ceremony to symbolically mark the transition from medical school into residency for the 21 first-year medical residents who are part of Bayhealth’s Family Medicine and Internal Medicine Residency Programs. The White Coat Ceremony is a time-honored tradition of removing the short, white coat worn in medical school and replacing them with the longer, white coat worn by physicians. 

“We look to these residents to bring the latest in healthcare education to Bayhealth,” said Bayhealth President & CEO Terry Murphy, FACHE. “We are counting on the residents to share what they’ve learned and to also collaborate, listen and learn from our physicians and teams. Most importantly, we expect each of them to provide quality, safe, and compassionate care to every patient they encounter.”

Bayhealth announced its first-year residents in March 2021 during a Match Day celebration. Beginning this month, the group of 21 resident physicians will start the next phase of their careers caring for patients in the newly opened Bayhealth Family Medicine, Dover and Bayhealth Internal Medicine, Milford practices as well as on inpatient units at Bayhealth Kent and Sussex hospitals.  

“To the outside, the white coats may look like nothing more than simple fabric, but to these physicians it represents much more – it represents professionalism, integrity, compassion, and the highest commitment to caring for patients,” said Bayhealth Senior Vice President, Chief Medical Officer and GME Designated Institutional Official Dr. Gary Siegelman, MD, MSc. “Our hope is that the residents are inquisitive, speak up for their patients, deliver on best practices, don’t compromise on safety, are open to support and partnerships, and that they create a place for themselves in this community that, both now and in the future, they can call their home.”

Bayhealth Internal Medicine Residency Program Director Joseph Deutsch, MD, and Family Medicine Residency Program Director Brintha Vasagar, MD, took the stage together to present the white coats to the physicians in their respective programs. 

“We want you to believe in yourself that you will be exceptional, be kind, work hard, and support one another,” said Dr. Deutsch as he addressed the residents. “As you put on your white coats, reflect on your journey to this point and enjoy the privilege of entering this profession.” 

“Your patients will place trust in you. They will tell you things that they won’t tell anyone else in their lives,” said Dr. Vasagar. “And we trust and believe that you will take that responsibility seriously and always do what’s best for your patients”

Each of the residents were presented with their white coat from leaders and faculty of the Family Medicine and Internal Medicine Residency Programs. 

Visit to see photos from the event and learn more about each of the residents.  

Back row from left to right: Resident Physician Chelsea Loughner, DO; Resident Physician Eunae Ko, DO; Resident Physician Keertana Seeli, DO; Internal Medicine Residency Director Joseph Deutsch, MD; Resident Physician Matthew Moorman, DO; Resident Physician Ussama Ghumman, MD; Resident Physician Michael Sabry Daniel, DO; Internal Medicine Faculty Member Bhavin Dave, MD; Internal Medicine Faculty Member Vinoo Ramsaran, MD.

Front row from left to right: Resident Physician Alyssa Pallatta, DO; Resident Physician Amanda Nguyen, DO; Resident Physician Devaki Dravid, DO; Resident Physician Nwando Tony-Onugu, MD.

Back row from left to right: Program Assistant Jamilah Boston; Resident Physician Paulina Rudy, DO; Resident Physician Samantha Ginder, DO; Resident Physician Sameer Valluri, MD; Resident Physician Hollis “Kendall” Barton, MD; Resident Physician Eric Moseley, MD; Bayhealth Chief Medical Officer and GME Designated Institutional Official Gary Siegelman, MD; Family Medicine Faculty Member Joseph Parise, MD.

Front row from left to right: Resident Physician Alicia Sikora, MD; Resident Physician Melissa Eppinger, MD; Resident Physician Tahseen Chowdhury, MD; Family Medicine Program Director Brintha Vasagar, MD; Family Medicine Assistant Program Director Roshan Prabhu, MD


Share This With Your Friends